h1

A re-introduction

July 7, 2009

In going over the assignment information for the introductory post, I noticed that I didn’t dot all my I’s and cross all of my T’s.

I chose to use WordPress in order to develop my blog for this course.  To be honest, hopefully, not too conceited, I probably could have used any of the most common blog publishing tools and been quite successful.  I would consider myself to be an advanced user of web based applications such as a blog.  As Richardson states early on in his book, although I can’t seem to find the exact reference right now (any help would be appreciated), web 2.0 tools are relatively easy to use and it is this ease of use that makes them quite popular.  The main reason I didn’t use a BlogSpot account is that I already had one and I wasn’t sure if there would be any complications having two separate accounts.

I have found the WordPress site to be very user-friendly with many features that make it highly impressive.  The layout and design on the page where the post is written is very easy to manage.  I can add tags, multimedia, save drafts, and categorize the post all from one page.

The look of the post is also impressive.  As I mentioned in a previous post, I was able to change the look of my post and the themes to choose from were very professional looking.  The one thing that I would like to know is whether or not the font can be changed.  I know that I can bold or italicize, but can I make it bigger and in the colour orange?  Perhaps it is possible usignt he HTML function as opposed to the WYSIWYG view.  I will have to try that out one of these days.

I am very surprised by the lack of advertising on the site.  I didn’t have to give any credit card information so I am assuming I am not getting a bill in the mail for using their site.  Where does their revenue stream come from?  Perhaps it comes from this button marked Upgrades near the bottom.  I will have to check that out later as well.  I have a feeling it is in the upgrading that they will charge.

I know that we will blog later on this course about blogging (is blogging about blogging called meta-blogging? hmm), but I think that the blog can be an effective tool in the classroom.  My first thoughts is that it can be a powerful tool for communicating with parents.  My vice-principal really wants to communicate to parents on a daily basis right to their e-mail accounts about the homework that has been assigned to each class.  With the use of a blog and RSS feed, parents and students will get updates about the homework, but the comment feature of the blog will allow for interaction beyond just receiving the homework.  Students could ask questions about the homework and have it answered by other students.  This would certainly do a lot more than simply stating that page 124 questions 1 – 5 are due form Monday.

As a final comment…I found it very interesting that when I spell checked this using the built in spell checker, the word “blog” received a red squiggly line under it.  You would think that blog might be in the dictionary used to power a the spell checker on a blog.

Dan

One comment

  1. My cousin teaches at a high school, and he has a blog to communicate with parents. Unfortunately he finds that with all the demands of the job, the blog is one of the first things to get neglected. It’s a great idea though, if you could get students and parents to use it, and if you had the time to keep it up to date.



Leave a Reply

