h1

Plunging ahead into the technological unknown

September 23, 2009

In reflecting upon my own personal characteristics, I have discovered that I am a bit of a mad man when it comes to using technology.  I plunge full steam ahead into a new technology without the forethought of what is to come from the adventure.

This was recently the case with a web based application called Prezi.  The site was introduced to me through an instructor at the University of Alberta.

I was initially mesmerized by the slickness of the website and the tutorials.  The products were very visually appealing and I wanted to do the same thing.  My initial exuberance got the best of me and I jumped right in.  I should have brought my water wings or a flutter board because I sank like a rock.  I felt lost and scared.  I did not get this technology at all.  The ability to navigate was highly confusing.  It was difficult to see and I had trouble getting it to work.  It did not work like Microsoft products, not even a little.  Why oh why was in not like Microsoft.  I know Microsoft is the big bad evil computer company, but at least their navigation makes sense.

After a few more failed attempts, I finally determined that getting some help was in order.  I went back to the tutorials and figured out how to actually work the application.  I still don’t get all of the ins and outs of the program, but I am getting the hang of actually navigating around the screen and using the technology to add images, words, and design elements.

I know that more experience would be beneficial to me as I could hone my skills and make some beautiful presentations.

Moral: Read / view the tutorial first.

One comment

  1. Ahead http://www.ahead.com is pretty similar to Prezi but its UI is much more traditional.



Leave a comment