h1

24 Hours of Archaicnis

September 30, 2009

This post is another one for my EDSE 501 course and I have to say that it really should be against university policy to allow instructors to torture their students.  I don’t know if a formal complain is in order, but perhaps an e-mail to the dean would suffice.  In all seriousness, I have been assigned a day away from 21st century technology.  No cell phone.  No iPod.  No computer.

I was not sure how long a day was, a work day, while the sun was out, or 24 hours, so I decided to be safe and abstain from technology for 24 hours.  8 am on Friday September 25 – 8 am on Saturday September 26.  At 7:45 am on Friday, I closed my laptop and shed a small tear.  Overall, the work day was not as bad as I thought it would be.  I informed my principal and assistant principal that I was “cave-manning” it for the day and they did chuckle a bit and let me know that if anything pressing came up they would send a carrier pigeon to let me know.  The major issue was attendance.  Instead of using the ClassXP program that I am normally required to use, I sent one of my students down to the office with a sticky note that indicated that Eric was away.  I had to do some examples and notes on the white board, which was not as quick as printing them out for the students or displaying them on my SmartBoard, it did allow me to see just how much my writing slants down on the whiteboard, but also how poorly students can read handwriting.  With the advent of computers, handwriting just isn’t as important.  Our society has moved to a printing based one where cursive writing just does not have the same importance.  I magine this is mostly due to the influx of messages being written in text.  So, the notes took a little bit and the students had sore arms, but they are definitely better for it (at least I think so).

The teaching day went rather smoothly, except that I had to cheat in order to get a letter for a student that was due on the Monday.  The only copy was on my computer so I took a few minutes to print one off for her.  I promise that it only took 2 or 3 minutes and I only opened word, found the letter, printed it and then turned the computer off.

The evening was the most difficult time to be without technology.  Normally I will surf the net, or watch a movie, or do some school work on my laptop, but not this Friday night.  I did make the most of no technology and took my girls out to the park.  We had a real blast, especially petting the cute dalmatian dogs that were walking by the park.

Darkly Dreaming Dexter Novel

Darkly Dreaming Dexter Novel

After the girls were in bed, I was actually getting bored.  I decided to wash a few dishes, but got bored of that because I normally watch a movie or listed to music as I was.  That night, it was just me and the suds.  After doing the dishes, I found a good book that I had not read in a while.    The book is Darkly Dreaming Dexter and follows very closely to the first season of Dexter.  The book is quite comical in a dark way.  The time was very nice to be able to sit and relax.

I have to be honest, it was very relaxing and at about 9:30 pm (well before my bedtime) I had fallen asleep in the chair in the family room.  At around 11:00 pm, my wife woke me up and I headed for bed.

The ALARM!!! clock went off around 7:30 on Saturday and after a bowl of cereal was finished, there was only a few minutes before my life returned to normal.  I did wait until 9:30 to check my e-mail as I was watching Tree-house Television with my girls.

Overall, the experience was not a terrible one.  It gave me some time to take care of a few things that just never seem to get done.  I don’t know about completely removing technology from my life, but perhaps a day a month would not be a bad idea.

I am not making any promising at this point, but this is something that I will certainly consider for the future.

Leave a Reply

